Boating Laws and boating license requirements by state
  • Sponsors
  • Site map

Boating Laws & License Requirements by State


Passing a boating safety course will give you a discount on boat insurance and will increase your water safety skills. Boat safety courses are an excellent investment of time and money, regardless of your state's boating law. Each state has unique boating education requirements, and the boating rules, laws and regulations vary from state to state for obtaining a boat license or safety certification. Be sure to review the full legal requirements for your particular state.


Laws By State Alaska Alabama Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming Rhode Island Pennsylvania
bullet California
  California Department of Boating and Waterways
 

California's new law will be phased in over the next several years. While the law goes into effect on January 1, 2015, the California Vessel Operator Card (CVOC) requirement will begin on January 1, 2018 for certain groups, and be phased in through January 1, 2025 when all persons will be required to have the Card. The Division of Boating and Waterways will begin evaluating implementation, and setting up frameworks to comply with SB 941 beginning in 2015.

The new California Harbors and Navigation Code Section 678.11(b) contains the following schedule to have a CVOC based on operator age by the following dates:

  • January 1, 2018 Persons 20 years of age or younger
  • January 1, 2019 Persons 25 years of age or younger
  • January 1, 2020 Persons 35 years of age or younger
  • January 1, 2021 Persons 40 years of age or younger
  • January 1, 2022 Persons 45 years of age or younger
  • January 1, 2023 Persons 50 years of age or younger
  • January 1, 2024 Persons 60 years of age or younger
  • January 1, 2025 All persons regardless of age
  click here to access the ABCs of California Boating (pdf format; 6.8MB)

States with mandatory boating law require safety certification for some or all boaters. Only one state (Alabama) requires an actual boat license. However, many prospective students are not aware of state legal terminology, and search for information about a boat license or licence, or a captain or captains license. This page is an excellent resource for boating law for all fifty states.